Sports - We Are England
Sports page


The Commonwealth Games features 17 sports - ten core and seven optional. Each Games has its own Sports Programme, decided by each Games' Organising Committee.

Athletics, badminton, boxing, hockey, lawn bowls, netball, rugby sevens, squash, swimming and weightlifting are all core sports meaning they must be included on each Games' Sports Programme.

Optional sports include archery, basketball, cycling, diving, gymnastics (artistic and rhythmic), judo, rowing, shooting, synchronised swimming, table tennis, taekwondo, tennis, ten-pin bowling, triathlon and wrestling.

Additionally there are a number of 'recognised' sports. For more information, visit the Commonwealth Games Federation's website.

Check out which sports are on the next Commonwealth Games' Sports Programme by using the links on the left, or find out more about sports from previous Games by visiting our 'Other Sports' section.